A.IR.Shield ESP8266

arishy
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 8:06 am

A.IR.Shield ESP8266

Post by arishy »

I had D1 mini which I tested before soldering the above shield.
The module came with two red jumpers in a default position.
After testing the D1 mini with blink ( both boards blinked !!!) then an empty sketch was uploaded.
Try to use the device with AnalysIR software nothing happened. I removed the two jumpers ( I have no clue why they are there)
Still no response from the software.

Then I realized that I must set up the Network so I did and gave the circuit an IP of 192.168.1.40 ( actually the software suggested 192.168.0.40) and I changed it to my local network by replacing the 0 with 1.

To my surprise I saw a network with ESPxxxx so I connected to it but nothing is happened.....!!!!!!!

It is OBVIOUS I am doing it all wrong.....( no documentation to set it up)

Then I realized that you mention firmware sketch that is provided !!!!!!!! where is it ???? Do I have to uploaded it to the D1 mini before I use your software ??

I am in total loss Please help
User avatar
AnalysIR
Site Admin
Posts: 776
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: A.IR.Shield ESP8266

Post by AnalysIR »

HI
It is OBVIOUS I am doing it all wrong.....( no documentation to set it up)
We emailed you the getting started instructions in July 2018, including a link to the WiKi.

I just resent these instructions to you now, which also has some recently updated firmware.

The email points to our wiki, which covers the questions you raised. So please go thru the getting started guide and if you need additional information let me know.

FYI: If you don't have a registered copy of AnalysIR available, then it may be better to use the IRremoteESP8266 library available from GitHub. (also covered in instructions)
arishy
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 8:06 am

Re: A.IR.Shield ESP8266

Post by arishy »

Thank you for your response...
My apology for not remembering your email with the missing info.
I do have the registered copy of the software, but I will try your recommendation if everything fails.
Can you please respond to this quick question.

I uploaded the IRserver from IRremote8266 can you tell me that pin D2 still holds or I have to change it
User avatar
AnalysIR
Site Admin
Posts: 776
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: A.IR.Shield ESP8266

Post by AnalysIR »

Just follow the pin-outs provided in the WiKi

Code: Select all

D5 - This pin is used as the input pin for the standard IR receiver.(14/GPIO14)
D6 - This pin is used as the input pin for the standard IR Learner. (12/GPIO12)
D4 - This pin is used as the IR send pin. (2/GPIO2)
So just configure D5 for the IR receiver & D4 for IR emitter (you can ignore D6 as an IR learner is not supported by that library.)
arishy
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 8:06 am

Re: A.IR.Shield ESP8266

Post by arishy »

Thank you for your support....your response time is quite good. I feel I am in good hands in this rather complex topic
Here what I did ( in case someone try my route; which is using the example sketch in IRremoteESP8266 which I got by downloading this library with the same name. The sketch name is IRserver

1. I upgraded the software to the dev version
2. In IDE I choose the board LOLIN(wemos) D1 R2 & Mini mine is the mini
3. changed the line 61
from const uint16_t kIrLed = 4; // ESP GPIO pin to use. Recommended: 4 (D2)
to const uint16_t kIrLed = 2; //D4 - This pin is used as the IR send pin. (2/GPIO2)
And of course the ssid and pw
4. after getting an ip , plugged it in the browser and opened your software and I received the signal correctly

Than you again for your support. YOU made my day
arishy
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 8:06 am

Re: A.IR.Shield ESP8266

Post by arishy »

I did compile your firmware sketch file but unfortunately I am getting errors

1. I am using IDE version 1.8.9
2. I am using wemos D1 mini ( not the pro)

Here is the line

Line # 453 #if use WIFI

when I commented out I got another error ......

Line # 723 #else // useWIFI false

Can you help
arishy
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 8:06 am

Re: A.IR.Shield ESP8266

Post by arishy »

It was my mistake The last line in the code

#endif //useWIFI

was NOT copied properly

Now it compile but I got these messages

Executable segment sizes:


IROM : 233484 - code in flash (default or ICACHE_FLASH_ATTR)


IRAM : 28728 / 32768 - code in IRAM (ICACHE_RAM_ATTR, ISRs...)


DATA : 1256 ) - initialized variables (global, static) in RAM/HEAP


RODATA : 916 ) / 81920 - constants (global, static) in RAM/HEAP


BSS : 27736 ) - zeroed variables (global, static) in RAM/HEAP

I presume they are "warning messages" Why because it produce the compiled version right ?????


Sketch uses 264384 bytes (25%) of program storage space. Maximum is 1044464 bytes.
Global variables use 29908 bytes (36%) of dynamic memory, leaving 52012 bytes for local variables. Maximum is 81920 bytes.
User avatar
AnalysIR
Site Admin
Posts: 776
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: A.IR.Shield ESP8266

Post by AnalysIR »

DId you use the updated firmware I sent you recently (not last year)
arishy
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 8:06 am

Re: A.IR.Shield ESP8266

Post by arishy »

The last message I sent you IS using the firmware you sent me yesterday. I never used your last year firmware ( I did not have it)
I just want you to confirm that the warning messages during compiling the code(shown in BOLD) are OK to ignore.I am repeating them here


Executable segment sizes:


IROM : 233484 - code in flash (default or ICACHE_FLASH_ATTR)


IRAM : 28728 / 32768 - code in IRAM (ICACHE_RAM_ATTR, ISRs...)


DATA : 1256 ) - initialized variables (global, static) in RAM/HEAP


RODATA : 916 ) / 81920 - constants (global, static) in RAM/HEAP


BSS : 27736 ) - zeroed variables (global, static) in RAM/HEAP


Sketch uses 264384 bytes (25%) of program storage space. Maximum is 1044464 bytes.
Global variables use 29908 bytes (36%) of dynamic memory, leaving 52012 bytes for local variables. Maximum is 81920 bytes.
Post Reply